I Am Guessing that Driscoll will Have a Field Day with This…

30 May

Click

4 Responses to “I Am Guessing that Driscoll will Have a Field Day with This…”

  1. amybaker June 7, 2008 at 9:18 pm #

    I would love to hear the driscoll take on that! but you have to wonder… why didn’t the mom just talk to her kid and move on? she is going to have to deal with it at some point. I once met a mom who refused to take her kid to disney world, b/c they supported alternative lifestyles and they literally said, ” I don’t want to be the one to have to explain to my daughter why two men are kissing.” Okay then… would you rather have the public school explain?

  2. poopemerges June 7, 2008 at 11:49 pm #

    I agree..but it is a fine line, once I went to a Football game and the guys in front of us were paying two girls to kiss…it was distracting. I know that this is the culture we live in, but at the same time I think we have the right to say “hey that is not right”…

    My question is though did the Disney mom really send her kid to the public school? That sounds like homeschooler thinking to me.

  3. amybaker June 9, 2008 at 12:07 am #

    yes, she did go to public school, believe it or not. I still cannot figure that one out. I agree we have a right to stand up for something, but when our motivation is to avoid dealing with something or explaining it to our children, we should be embarrassed.
    I have been in youth ministry for awhile, and the trickiest families to work with are always those who employ these types of avoidance tactics, b/c sooner or later no matter how much you shelter them the world will get through. It’s at that point that you want your voice in their head, not just the culture.

  4. poopemerges June 10, 2008 at 1:06 pm #

    Wow. She went to a public school! Those are the kinds of kids that are making the public schools dangerous for my kids :)….

    I agree with you by the way…it is a relic of fundamentalism that has caused us to fortress rather than engage.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

