The Olympic Boycott Idea Grows…

25 Jun

Check out the petition here.

6 Responses to “The Olympic Boycott Idea Grows…”

  1. Jessica Kast-Keat June 29, 2008 at 7:12 pm #

    What might help the boycott even more would be if people actually stopped buying things from China. Think about it…where would your clothes come from? Now, that means that people actually have to make ethical consumer choices, something that is actually harder to do.

  2. poopemerges June 29, 2008 at 8:30 pm #

    I totally agree! I have been looking for shoes that are not made in China online? Do you have a lead?

  3. amybaker June 30, 2008 at 7:35 pm #

    try new balance. I don’t know what the deal is recently, but one of their tag lines used to be that 75% of their shoes were made in the US, and they opposed sweatshops. But, that was a few years ago, and sometimes that stuff changes quickly.

  4. Jessica Kast-Keat June 30, 2008 at 10:16 pm #

    Are you a shoe man?!!? That is a fun fact:)

    Well I actually don’t buy too many shoes b/c I have bad feet and the last pair I bought was over a year ago from a company called Dansko. They are very environmentally friendly but I am not sure where they are made…..I will do some research and let you know….happy endeavors!

  5. poopemerges June 30, 2008 at 10:37 pm #

    I have a very strange fascination with shoes…I am like the Imelda Marcos of white males… I get teased about this a lot, but alas I am a confident male. What I would like is a Puma style shoe that is not made in China…I have some shoes made in the Philippines but the problem there is that i had to go to the Philippines to get them. My main problem with New Balance is that anything I have seen at the local stores is ugly…(not that I would not sacrifice for Jesus and Justice..but still) I was looking online but there does not seem to be much out there… Especially if you are me and don’t have a lot of buckage…

  6. Jessica Kast-Keat July 2, 2008 at 11:53 pm #

    As promised, my shoe friend, here is the reply from dansko shoes…

    I would be interested in knowing what standards and code of conduct mean. When I buy my next pair of shoes…which will be a long time from now….I will be asking.

    Good luck on the shoe find!

    Dear Jes,

    Thank you for your interest in Dansko. Our products are manufactured globally. We work with manufacturing partners who not only offer superior craftsmanship and technology for our products, but who are committed to operating their business and treating their staff in the most fair and ethical manner. We insist on a code of conduct for these partners and will only work with facilitates that agree to these strict guidelines.
    Thank you for taking the time to write us and have a fun filled and safe 4th of July weekend!

    Sincerely,
    Lise
    Dansko Customer Service

Leave a comment