The Jesus of Suburbia…

21 Oct

So I am reading a book by a guy named Mike Erre called “Jesus of Suburbia”…It rocks. Over the next few days I will be giving quotes.

“Risk is inherent in faith. Risk and Faith cannot be divorced”

“This is one of the reasons we settle for the mundane Jesus of suburbia; he is predictable and safe. This way of living steals the life God offers, even with all of it’s cost. We settle for the dull and drab, never daring great things for God and never seeing God do great things.”

“I want my children to grow up understanding that life with Jesus is more than just being nice, or trying not to cuss and get drunk because “that is what good Christians do.” I want my children to be so compelled by the real Jesus that they are willing to stand with him, giving their lives to his revolution, not in order to be religious but because the is simply no more exhilarating way to live. I want my kids to see my wife and me as revolutionaries who subvert the dominant belief systems of the world, not out of religious obligation but in wholehearted response to the person of Jesus.”

Word. I think that last one may be the purpose statement that my wife and I would choose for ourselves as parents. All of these came just form the first chapter and there are more amazing quotes as well. I will post them later.

2 Responses to “The Jesus of Suburbia…”

  1. Brian October 25, 2006 at 2:55 am #

    I just ordered this book, and did a google search to see what people have said about it. I am very excited to read it, as I go to the church where Pastor Mike Erre (The Author) teaches. I will keep reading to see what more you have to say about it!

  2. J December 24, 2006 at 10:48 am #

    I really like the quotes you picked from The Jesus of Suburbia, but they seem to be saying exactly what John Elderidge said in Wild at Heart. I don’t know if I would be as hard on him as you were since you say the same…just with less horses. Maybe your thing is not kayaking but you defiantly have a longing for something more…something wilder. (A Sacred Romance is much better than Wild at Heart)

Leave a Reply

