Posts like this make me wish I actually knew Art

10 Apr

What the Bell?

Someone please tell Rob that the Rabbis of the Mishnah, Tosefta, Talmud, Midrash, and Haggadah are neither the Pharisees of the NT nor were they around during the time of the OT). He makes the point that the marriage was not “official” until the couple had sex. He then talks about a couple who might be living together and their friends might encourage them to get married. Rob then writes:

But maybe it’s already a marriage in God’s eyes, and maybe their having sex has already joined them as a man and a wife from God’s perspective. (p. 137)

Hey dads isn’t that exactly the argument you want your daughter’s Pastor making?

5 Responses to “Posts like this make me wish I actually knew Art”

  1. Calvin April 10, 2007 at 7:48 pm #

    Er – what about flipping that around. For instance, “Don’t have sex boys and girls because if you do God takes it very seriously. Seriously enough that he expects commitment when two people have sex. Commitment on the level of marriage.”

    Having never read the book I can’t speak to what Rob is saying – but I could see how it could be taken as a positive encouragement against premarital sex. I’ve always wondered, personally – does God care about a piece of paper from the state?

    Disclaimer – I am happily married, in the eyes of God and the state.

  2. poopemerges April 10, 2007 at 7:55 pm #

    Calvin, it is not so much the state that matter to me but I do think that as a representation of the relationship between the Church and God, marriage is the most sacred of things…And the ceremony before God has always precede the act in both Jewish and Christian culture..all I can say is read Art’s full post.

  3. Calvin April 11, 2007 at 7:57 am #

    I did. Actually how I found your blog. I’m certainly not saying the ceremony isn’t important – just trying to throw out an alternative way of reading Rob’s comment (having never read it myself).

  4. beckilinn April 13, 2007 at 11:07 am #

    “Hey dads isn’t that exactly the argument you want your daughter’s Pastor making?”

    LOL

  5. Rick December 17, 2007 at 3:18 pm #

    The state doesn’t marry you, God does. The state only charges you a tax to keep the record of your marriage for legal purposes. But to answer the question, yes, God cares about the paper because the paper represents the cerimony and God REALLY cares about that.

Leave a Reply

