Another suburban church shows its dedication to rescuing us…

13 Apr

You ever notice that it is always easier to get involved from a distance? Such the case in the latest from large suburban church here in Grand Rapids MI. It seems that they are holding a conference on how to love their “neighbors” (and they do not it seems mean their neighbors in Grandville, they mean their po’ neighbors) and inviting the CCDA (Christian Community Development Association) to lead it. Now I love the CCDA but the ironic thing to me is that CCDA is based on three “R”s: Reconciliation, Redistribution and Relocation. It is the third “R” that I suspect this church will not practice, but hey they could sell their mall and move to the hood, sure some of their SUV’s and beemers might get scratched but it could happen.

I guess I just find it mildly annoying when a church full of yuppies and their offspring decide they are going to change my world. That is after all what we need, 10,000 messiahs in sports utility vehicles descending upon us to rescue us with their master cards and know-how. It will be beautiful, the will come in, inquire what gang every black kid is in, talk with the Latinos about how they sneaked into the country, teach us all how to use a clean wash cloth and then ride off after having fixed everything. They will then go to Atlanta Bread company to debrief and praise the Lord for the miraculous ways in which he used them in our lives. We on the other hand will all slink back to the bus stop so we can catch a ride down to family dollar where we will pawn our food stamps and trade two of our baby’s diapers for a pack of smokes and a lotto ticket.

5 Responses to “Another suburban church shows its dedication to rescuing us…”

  1. ty April 15, 2007 at 11:16 am #

    Jesus wants to save Christians from being rich and the way they were…

  2. Justin May 1, 2007 at 3:01 pm #

    You sound kind of angry, and I’m not sure why.

    Isn’t what you’re describing a plus? Isn’t this a good thing? I think you’re being a little cynical here. How could this be turned into a positive in your eyes?

    Why does this annoy you, Is what I’m trying to ask.

  3. Joshua May 19, 2008 at 9:39 am #

    I don’t know if I want to be completely like Christ. I want to be like me, the me that GOD created with gifts that glorify him. Those gifts may make me rich and may cause me to buy beautiful things. Those gifts may cause me to hang out with other wealthy people and to invest in monumental undertakings.

    Hey, My name is josh and I live in Grand Rapids as well. My friend Adam from California told me to check out your blog. holla back. middledoggy@hotmail.com

  4. a February 2, 2009 at 11:39 pm #

    way late to the party… but Justin: seriously?!!

    On a serious note.. no, it is not a good thing. because it is more harmful than helpful when giant ministries come in to do “fly by” church work. They raise the hopes of a community and then dash away before the long, hard heart and communal work begins that takes years and commitment. That then places the aforementioned “fly by” church in the position of 1.) rescuer, rather than companion in community. 2.) it adds the church to laundry list of white services and other institutions that come and go, lacking true commitment and 3.) it’s offensive to people to act as though you know how to solve their problems without engaging their strengths in the process.

    Sorry for the rant poop/Justin (i am sure you are nice and etc.), i have strong feelings about this. It drives me nuts b/c it’s us (the church) making ourselves a functional savior rather than making Jesus the savior, and it asks little heart or lifestyle change of the rescuer. It’s a fire escape for the guilt people bury for living an over consumptive lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

