Of Driscoll and Inspiration

24 May

Hey have not posted much lately..just not inspired or angry enough I guess…In hopes of finding something I did a blog search..but nothing popped up.  On an up note I searched for Mark Driscoll and nothing negative came up 🙂 that was cool.  I really love and respect Mark and his ministry and he takes so many uncalled for hits (what up Bill)…Which makes so little sense when there are so many good people to critique, (Hi Rabbi Rob)….

7 Responses to “Of Driscoll and Inspiration”

  1. aboulet May 27, 2007 at 1:51 am #

    Nothing negative on Driscoll? Satan must be wearing a jacket.

    I’m with you bro. Mark gets railed for insignificant things and his ministry is amazing. It’s a shame.

  2. Heather May 27, 2007 at 3:37 pm #

    Oops, I sent my last message before finishing it.
    But my whole point is that we don’t confront biblically or deal with differences in GOd honoring ways. COnflict is normal and healthy. I am suspicious of harmonious groups because usually there it’s a mindless group not questioning in a healthy way. But I don’t like people not checking the facts (not accusing you unless it applies but the many blogs I read), spinning stories, and dishonoring digs on people one disagrees with.

  3. Heather May 27, 2007 at 3:42 pm #

    Okay, I see that my previous message didn’t go through like I thought it did. So for the 3:37 one to make sense, this is what I said.

    THe conference where Bill Hybels apparently took a “hit” on Mark’s church planting video. I read from someone who worked at the conference that Bill’s comment more not intended to rip on Mark but to remind us about women who also are church leading planters. He also explained why some videos were not handing out. I guess I won’t know the whole truth but this one makes sense too. Especially since I have not heard Bill take a dig at someone publically.

  4. poopemerges May 28, 2007 at 7:21 pm #

    Heather,

    I was at the conference and I felt like Bill took a definite dig. Others disagree. So who knows. My point was it is nice to see a whole week of blog stuff and nothing negative about Mark.

  5. Heather May 29, 2007 at 7:45 pm #

    HI- I am glad to hear you were there. It’s interesting how others interpreted it differently. Hope you don’t mind me asking, but why did you consider it a dig and not Bill reminding people that women play a vital role in church planting? I am just trying to figure out why the other person felt Bill was acknowledging the huge part women play in ministry and not trying to rip on Mark.
    Thanks for responding to my comments.

  6. poopemerges May 29, 2007 at 11:57 pm #

    Heather,
    I too have been interested in the fact that some others saw it as no big deal. Of the group I was with most of whom were not big fans of Mark, we all saw it the same way. Now I am a Mark/Acts29 guy so I will admit bias up front, however I was totally stressed by what happened. It was mostly an attitude thing, but what happened was that Bill came up immediatly following the Mark video and said in a snotty voice (forgive the term but he actually reminded me of my seven year old daughter…only she gets spanked when she does it…) said “after seeing that for eight minutes I just want to remind you that there are women…yada, yada , yada…” Now if he wants to graciously make that point somehow in his message, fine, but it was at an inappropriate time with an inappropriate attitude in repose to something Mark did not even say.

    I also think it is interesting that Bill has decided that he is the theological thought police and he is the one to let everyone know that Mark is wrong to believe in male eldership. You need to understand that there were Lesbian Pastor’s (from the Metropolitan Community Church) attending this conference (which I will assume Bill is not down with) but he did not make that point from stage. Also the majority of speakers were overwhelmingly pro-“female as church planter” in there presentations…and at no point did anyone from A29 or the Southern Baptist (Ed Stetzer for instance) publicly oppose them, even thought they would clearly disagree. My point is this: it is ok to believe anything you want and say anything you want and be accepted unless you happen to believe something more conservative in which case you will be publicly called out by a snotty key note speaker.

  7. revolutionfl June 2, 2007 at 12:03 pm #

    i love the “rabbi rob” crack. i can see that we are like-minded as i scroll through your posts.

    REVOLUTION

Leave a Reply

