An Atonement Debate…

20 Jun

Here is an article that I think is helpful..interestingly it is from 1990, but it has several interesting points:

1. Dr. Pinnock suggest that the evangelical world in general is moving away from Penal substitutionary atonement. Which I think is true is some cases, but thankfully since 1990 organizations like Act29 and Passion have stepped up and turned the tide.

2. Dr. Pinnock suggests that Fuller University is also moving away from it and is representative of this non-Augustinian (Which in Pinniock’s case means Hyper-Arminian, Open-theism) view. This is interesting to me because my favorite theological psycho/rabbi Robert Bell is a Fuller grad…frankly watching him from a close proximity here in GR I just though he was going slowly insane, that he started out preaching the Bible and just somehow got lost at a Bar Mitzvah along the way, but now it appears that he may have been taught to view God as he does. Interesting.

4 Responses to “An Atonement Debate…”

  1. Doug Pagitt June 20, 2007 at 7:11 pm #

    Might I suggest that this assumption: “reperesentive of this non-Augustinian (ie Hyper Arminian, Open-thesim) views.” is where the blind spot is for many reformed folks.
    Being non-augustinian is not the same as being Arminian or an Open-Theist.
    It is not a simple this or that. There are many things one could be as a non-augustinian.
    Your assumption would be like saying a non-buick person must be a jetta or toyota person.

  2. poopemerges June 20, 2007 at 9:26 pm #

    Doug,
    I will grant the oversimplification…though in Pinnock’s case they are true…and as he says, technically an atheist could be non-Augustinian. I actually was using the term as a contrast to my perception that Pinnock views Calvinism and Augustinianism as the same thing and was coming at it from my own Calvinistic bent. So I will admit my own bias here that clearly I am an Augustinian…in that I am a Calvinist (though also Baptist)…I did not mean though to stereotype all non-Augustinians…I was just trying to help people who have no idea who Pinnock is have a frame of reference.

  3. Emily June 24, 2007 at 4:17 pm #

    Seems to me there’s alot of thelogical debating and name tossing… Do you really think that Jesus is in or for that? Paul writes to the church when some are saying they follow ‘so and ao’ and others are saying that they follow another ‘so and so’…Paul makes it clear, we follow Christ and Christ prayed to the Father that we would all be one as He and the Father are one. To me, all of this debate on whther or not this guy follows this “view” or that one is nothing but men puffing himself up in his own knowledge, which the Word clearly says is foolishness to God. Jesus said that the world would know us, as followers of Christ,by our love…FOR EACH OTHER. That doesn’t seem to be what the world knows “Christians” by today. Does that concern any one else?

  4. poopemerges June 25, 2007 at 12:30 am #

    Emily,
    Yes it concerns me..but don’t quote selectively..Paul also tells Timothy to watch his life and doctrine closely. Jesus himself in Revelation warns against tolerating bad teaching (Revelation 2-3)and Jude says: Dear friends, although I was very eager to write to you about the salvation we share, I felt compelled to write and urge you to contend for the faith that the Lord has once for all entrusted to us, his people

    D

Leave a Reply

