If I Had to Stand with One or the Other Part 2…Um is there a third Choice?

20 Jun

So a couple of weeks ago I ruminated on a theological topic and people with opposing views…Here is my quandary however, what do you do when you believe that one person is right, but a jerk and the other person you disagree with, but they seem to be more Christlike? Its the ole’ orthopraxis/orthodoxy debate. Clearly my preference is that we display both, and I know that there are lot of nice people who (from my perspective) are completely wrong and do not care a thing about Jesus, but I am just saying it is a strange thing. I mean I know who I want to stand with theologically, but I am just not sure they will be that much fun to spend eternity with.

P.S. I know some perceive this very blog as both mean-spirited and jerky (which may be a little true…but mostly I just want to be funny 🙂 )

5 Responses to “If I Had to Stand with One or the Other Part 2…Um is there a third Choice?”

  1. clearly June 25, 2007 at 2:33 am #

    problem solved, i think

    1. heaven is big

    2. heaven isn’t about having fun

    so, stand for theology now

  2. poopemerges June 25, 2007 at 10:27 am #

    funny. And yes heaven is big, but doesn’t right theology need to at some point be accompanied by a Christlike attitude and behavior.

  3. Heather June 26, 2007 at 6:16 pm #

    Interesting musings…and I certainly agree. I am glad you clarified you were trying to mostly be funny. Without knowing people personally I never am quite sure what tone things are meant in. And you tend to come off certain way sometimes. But I always check weekly to see what thoughts you were sharing….Thanks.

  4. clearly July 3, 2007 at 8:19 pm #

    poop,

    you are right, a Christlike attitude should always accompany right doctrine.

    however, we need to define what is Christlike according to the Bible.

    i don’t know if you do greek at all or not, but in galatians, at one point, paul pretty much tells the judaizers to go emasculate themselves — cut off their male reproductive organs. hmm, is that a Christlike thing to do? since paul was an apostle and since that language is recorded for us in galatians in the context that we find it, i think we must assume yes.

    should we be charitable when we disagree over non-essentials? yes. should we be charitable when the gospel is at stake? absolutely not! that’s why the authors of scripture used the word anathema —

    grace

  5. Sam DeSocio July 9, 2007 at 11:56 am #

    Clearly,

    In Galatians Paul firmly rebukes Peter, but in Acts he humbly submits? Could it be that not all situations call for the release of the proverbial hounds.
    In Corinthians he puts up with a ton of crap, and tells them to kick out one guy, when in all likelihood, most “reformed” guys today, would never go near the Corinthian church, and excommunicate the whole bunch.
    Paul is dealing with sexual immorality in a tender way. Paul’s firm hand in Galatians can’t be taken without his gentle guidance in his other letters.

    I hate to generalize but Christ’s Christ-likeness, was different in different situations, and with different people. Some he called devil spawn, some he told of water that would always satisfy, and with others he simply held out his pierce hand as proof.

Leave a Reply

