Transformers Compared to the Transformer

27 Jun

Allow me to spin you a yarn…When I was but a mere boy I wanted nothing more than a Transformer, but as every other boy my age wanted one as well, they were very hard to get. My dad would come home from working very long hours at the furniture factory (where he ran a large metal press) and immediately turn around and go from toy store to toy store to look for one. One day he finally found one (he thought) and brought it home to me excitedly. Shock and horror. It was a Gobot. Sure it transformed and it was a cute little yellow VW bug, (the old kind not the new kind preferred by happy males) but the fact remained that it was not the real thing. I was not happy.

I would love to have a moral to that story above, like something about a fathers love and a boys ungratefulness, or how, if you believe the story from wired magazine then Optimus Prime is a Christ type and if that is so then a Gobot would be a demonic imitation like the Antichrist. But really I have no such application. Though you can feel free to draw your own message and meaning. You go all Derrida and deconstruct it or whatever. For the most part I just told the story to introduce what I think is a really interesting article from James Harleman. You can read it by clicking below.

Click Here I beg You!!!! It’s a Great Article

3 Responses to “Transformers Compared to the Transformer”

  1. Sam DeSocio July 9, 2007 at 11:59 am #

    That is a great post, I linked to it on my blog too.
    Nice site man.

  2. James Harleman August 16, 2007 at 1:12 am #

    Wow – Gobot as AntiChrist. It’s a stretch, but my hatred runs pretty deep as well for those weak imitators. Don’t get me started on the Rock Lords.

  3. poopemerges August 16, 2007 at 10:32 am #

    On an up note though there is a HE-Man movie coming out…And that my friend is pure nostalgic joy.

Leave a Reply

