What I Like About Doug Pagitt…and Others Like Him

23 Jul

So today I get an email telling me that I am probably not saved because I said something mean about a group of churches…never mind that what I said was true, I was ripping on “the brethren”…so I was mean. I of course emailed the individual and pointed out what I thought was the folly of his email but he got more annoyed with me and kept repeating the same tired, “your a big hell bound meany” stuff. Then he emailed me and told me he would not read any of my emails and they were being deleted, this even though they were all only replies to his email. And of course even though the substance of the post he took offense to was that certain churches are ingrown and do not care about reaching people for Jesus, he kept telling me to stop being mean and get out and love people to Christ, which is more than a little ironic…He also seemed to have a problem with the fact that I own a computer and blog as he kept telling I spent too much time on my “fancy blog” and I was sitting around “waiting to write emails”…this again more than a little ironic given the fact that his critique was posted on said blog and he emailed me back immediately.

In the midst of this I tried to get him to deal with the actual issues in the post but he refused. That is annoying to me. This is where Doug Pagitt comes in, now I do not agree with him, (nor he with me it should be noted) but at least back a few weeks ago when I posted about him he was willing to discuss the issue. I guess in that sense there really is an emergent “conversation”. I appreciate that. People are so afraid to really talk about things. Smile everybody and pretend we all agree, I guess it is the Christian way.

7 Responses to “What I Like About Doug Pagitt…and Others Like Him”

  1. aboulet July 23, 2007 at 11:43 pm #

    I, also, appreciate that about those within the broad reaches of the emerging movement. I am fed up with many people who are simply unwilling to converse about certain topics. Glad to see I’m not the only one.

    Keep pressing on brotherman.

  2. Heather July 28, 2007 at 12:36 am #

    Well, sometimes you come off as mean, sacarastic, close minded… you get the picture. But then again sometimes you come across as honest, enlightened, and real. Which is why I keep coming back to see what you have to say. You know, I grew up in the church where we all equated agreement with truth. It was almost an unspoken thought that keeping the peace was biblical- Now I am learning that being a peace keeper vs a peace maker is a REALLY big difference. But that’s a whole other topic.
    So I like what you are stirring up- sometimes I think you can be kinder to the Rob Bells of the world but I like your realness. I like the questions you ask.

  3. poopemerges July 28, 2007 at 1:29 am #

    I am certainly the first two…but seldom the third…always the forth, only very occasionally the fifth and constantly the sixth…

    I guess its a matter of perspective…you should hear the things I don’t say about RB. I just feel bad about that thing I said about Pat Robertson… đŸ™‚

  4. poopemerges July 28, 2007 at 1:38 am #

    It should be noted that if RB would publically and clearly say that Jesus is the only way to heaven I would back off significantly…I would go back to thinking he was just a curious confused oddity with a bunch of wacky ideas. But as he appeared in our local paper saying that he was unwilling to say that I am at present unwilling to cut him any slack…

    Also to be noted: this blog actually started as a tongue and cheek encouragement for the many former Mars Hillers and college students in our town who had on their own figured out that something did not smell right is Mars Hill land…

    Of course it is totally possible that I am sinner by maintaining this blog…Frank thinks so, at present I don’t…but I had better watch myself…

  5. Heather August 1, 2007 at 12:43 am #

    That is very intersting- living here in the Dairy Land (Wisconsin) I have not heard much about RB. I was quite surprised by your comment about him not willing to say Jesus is the only way to heaven. I just appreciated his willingness to question stuff in Velvet Elvis. I love the questions.

    BTW, what are your thoughts about NorthPoint in Atlanta, Georgia? Are you familiar with Andy Stanley?

  6. poopemerges August 1, 2007 at 1:07 pm #

    I like Andy Stanley a lot. His way of doing church is ummm more “organized”
    than how we do it but I think he loves Jesus and his books have been helpful.

  7. Heather Fischer September 13, 2007 at 10:02 pm #

    I know how much you love Doug. This is the John MacArthur vs. Doug on Yoga. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

