Sometimes People Just Say the Darndest Things…

19 Dec

So Tony Jones and Kenny Silva are all the rage all over the web…and I am not really a big fan of some things about both of these guy’s thought…but in reading over to the Joneses website I found this:

“I’m not sure it’s even possible to be an orthodox Christian if you’re not living a life of reconciliation.”

That my friends is nothing short of brilliant. It is right on. As I often find myself in the middle of racially motivated issues or around prejudiced people who others would claim are upstanding Christians I am so glad someone verbalized (or typ-alized this)…

Thanks Tony (and Paul and Jesus 🙂 )

4 Responses to “Sometimes People Just Say the Darndest Things…”

  1. preson777 December 19, 2007 at 3:07 pm #

    brilliant. Thanks for that. I needed to read that.

  2. jmcjones December 20, 2007 at 1:35 am #

    i spent some time going through old posts and nice blog. fyi: doug did yoga a couple times with shelley but he is a committed basketball player and so not a practicing yogi.

    although, after reading posts ironically i can’t seem to peg you at all; which i really like.

    thanks cuz i was looking for a good book to read with my xian neighbor for a little study. Jesus of Suburbia by john erre sounds like a good recommendation.

    is that right? it sounds like the follower of christ i want to be too. “whom shall i send, Lord send me.”

  3. poopemerges December 20, 2007 at 1:45 am #

    I can’t even peg me :)…It helps to think of me as conservative/liberal/emerging/
    entrenching/I don’t know I am a lot of things and it is issue by issue I am not one to adopt systems to do my thinking for me…I try to live Biblically on every issue and sometimes that does not do well with the establishment and makes me hard to peg…

    Really I just want to be a completely subversive follower of Jesus in the most radical, missional way possible.

    BTW: I totally recommend “Jesus of Suburbia”

    D

  4. poopemerges December 20, 2007 at 1:50 am #

    PS: What I think is probably most problematic about being a practicing Yogi is all the stealing…I mean couldn’t you get you own picnic baskets?

Leave a Reply

