Some Days Suck…

20 Feb

Some days truely suck (sorry mom).  They are those days when nothing feels right or good.  These are the days when the same ole’ stuff happens.  The stuff that makes you question everything.  I am in one of those places now.  I don’t question God,  him I trust,  but me I have giant issues with.  I mean really all I have to show for my adult life is the ability to hang in at being a poor, not extremely effective church planter…These are the days where I feel lonely and isolated and not exactly sure what God was thinking when he called me.  I mean, I read about William Carey and how he was in India for Seven years before he saw a harvest…this is my seventh year…but what if instead of a seventh year harvest,  I am just a seven year joke? What if all this is nothing…

Parish the thought…Soon I will dream again: until then I take heart from Chris Tomlin’s new song God of this City:

You’re the God of this city
You’re the King of these people
You’re the Lord of this nation
You Are

You’re the light in this darkness
You’re the hope to the hopeless
You’re the peace to the restless

You are

Bridge:
For there is no one like our God
There is no one like our God

Chorus 1:
Greater things have yet to come
Great things are still to be done
In this city
Greater things are still to come
And greater things are still to be done here

Verse 2:
You’re the Lord of Creation
The Creator of all things
You’re the King above all Kings
You Are

You’re the strength in our weakness
You’re the love to the broken
You’re the joy in the sadness
You Are

Chorus 2:
Greater things have yet to come
Great things are still to be done
In this city
Where glory shines from hearts alive
With praise for you and love for you
In this city

Greater things have yet to come
Great things are still to be done
In this city
Greater things are still to come
And greater things are still to be done here
There is no one like our God

Chorus 1:
Greater things have yet to come
Great things are still to be done
In this city
Greater things are still to come
And greater things are still to be done here

Verse 2:
You’re the Lord of Creation
The Creator of all things
You’re the King above all Kings
You Are

You’re the strength in our weakness
You’re the love to the broken
You’re the joy in the sadness
You Are

Chorus 2:
Greater things have yet to come
Great things are still to be done
In this city
Where glory shines from hearts alive
With praise for you and love for you
In this city

Greater things have yet to come
Great things are still to be done
In this city
Greater things are still to come
And greater things are still to be done here

3 Responses to “Some Days Suck…”

  1. Dan February 20, 2008 at 12:21 pm #

    Hang in there bro’. I always think of Jeremiah when I’m feeling like this. I think from our standards today he would be viewed as undoubtedly unsuccessful in his ministry.

    You are remaining faithful. Be sure and give yourself breaks every now and then. Rest is important.

    I’m praying for you today.

  2. drew February 25, 2008 at 1:32 am #

    that is a wonderful song my friend but just to let you know it isn’t chris tomlin’s song. some band from oversees wrote it and chris’s lead guitar player happend to be there when it was being played. i only know this because i was just at passion DC and tomlin shared the story. peace bro

  3. poopemerges February 25, 2008 at 11:38 am #

    I know it is technically by Bluetree a Belfast band and was written for that city…But the version I heard was CT and I was to lazy to explain :).

Leave a Reply

