Why Voting Pro-Life Still Matters….

10 Mar

IT IS A SOCIAL JUSTICE ISSUE!

I will tell you this honestly: I  believe that a Gospel without hands and feet is impotent. I am an environmentalist. I also care deeply from the poor.    I am so concerned for racial equality that my own mother accused me of not liking white people (that’s a weird flip huh?)…I am militantly supportive of public education.  I believe that government must play a role in helping the poor…yada, yada, yada.  This is my Apostle Paul moment for all you younger evangelicals: Are you concerned about the poor:  I am more so.  Do you care about the earth?  I am greener.  Do you believe that we must end oppression?  I said it first.  To all of you who think you have cornered the market on the trendy liberal Christian,  please listen:  You are not first, nor are you alone…but it your thinking you are somewhat misguided.

Abortion is a social justice issue: How can we with a straight face say we care at all about the poor,  the ethnic, or the oppressed and then sit idly by while majority of abortions are performed on that social group?  Abortion is not just murder, it is social and ethnic cleansing.  The least “desirable” elements in our society are being weeded out  pre-birth.  If you have no moral grounding then you are fine with that…Hey good riddance. On the other hand if you follow Jesus this is what he meant by “the least of these…”  Don’t cede the  ground on this issue.  It is true there are others,  but none that must be pursued at the expense of this!

Good Post Here. 

7 Responses to “Why Voting Pro-Life Still Matters….”

  1. mikevandrie March 10, 2008 at 6:23 pm #

    How do you think that we should go about curbing abortion?

  2. poopemerges March 10, 2008 at 6:40 pm #

    I think that for one thing we need to as Christians live and love the Gospel into peoples lives. I think we need to care for young women and and their children. I think we need to promote adoption. All of these things are working. I also think that we need to battle for the coming generations hearts so that they grow up with the firm convicting that abortion is wrong.

    Politically I think we need to repeal Roe V. Wade and outlaw abortion.

  3. CobourgWriter March 11, 2008 at 10:11 pm #

    Where is birth control in your equation? In an ideal world all women would have access to birth control when they want it/need it and the knowledge to use it properly. All men would support their partners and take as much responsibility as they can for reproductive issues. Avoiding the need for abortion sounds like the logical first step.

  4. poopemerges March 12, 2008 at 12:00 am #

    I agree with that as well. Although if it is an ideal world I would also like to suggest that loving fathers who treat their daughters right would go a long way in preventing promiscuity and thus reduce abortion as well.

    D

  5. mikevandrie March 13, 2008 at 6:34 pm #

    Hey D I agree more with the first part of the solution. I would like to see Roe v. Wade overturned.

    However I don’t think that politics is the answer. First I don’t see either political party putting the correct judges into power. Also even if they over turned Roe v Wade I don’t think that this would change people’s hearts or stop abortions.

  6. poopemerges March 13, 2008 at 7:39 pm #

    Mike: Ia agree but there is als that tension where we are told to render to Ceasar what is Ceasar’s. The reality is that if we are going to live in a culture we have a responsibility to live out Jesus in that culture and i think that can include how we vote. You are right it may never be repealed…but I still think we are obligated to try. Also it is true that abortions might still happen (though not to the rate of 1.9 million a year…) But so do all forms of murder. If a person performing an abortion is taking a life, they are sinning against the nature of God and his image, can we allow that to continue unpunished? And if we are not going to prosecute these the murderers of total innocents why prosecute any murderer?

  7. Longing for Holiday May 19, 2008 at 12:57 am #

    I am with you, brother. Check out my own heartburn in the matter: http://lpkalal.wordpress.com/2008/04/06/the-unwitting-hypocrisy-of-christians-hoping-to-reproduce/

Leave a Reply

