Hate if you gotta…

12 Mar

My favorite Mark Quote of all time: It’s all about Jesus, It’s always about Jesus, it’s only about Jesus!

7 Responses to “Hate if you gotta…”

  1. Brianmpei March 12, 2008 at 7:38 pm #

    I think Mark does an excellent job breaking down the lanes of the emerging church highway (though chancing the easy shot at ‘the broad path that leads to destruction…’ snipes)in the first part of that talk. I’ve been enjoying your blog by the way. I think we might be in slightly different lanes politically but you’ve got some great stuff to say.

  2. poopemerges March 12, 2008 at 8:14 pm #

    That’s ok I am not even sure where I am politically most days! I am a libroservamoderte…I think.
    🙂

    D

  3. beckystewart March 12, 2008 at 9:22 pm #

    No, no. It’s all about “G-zis.” You’ve gotta work on your Seattle accent. I think I need to start branching out. I spent 90% of the Bible study last night thinking about Driscoll quotes and analogies.

  4. REB March 12, 2008 at 9:31 pm #

    That made me weep for joy!

    Forgive me for being a little emotional, but I’m rebounding from Chapter 1 of Tony Jones’ latest book, The New Christians. Christ literally has no place in it so far. (Perhaps you disagree?)

    I have often wondered why Mark doesn’t totally drop and denounce the moniker of “Emergent”. Perhaps he has? I’m familiar with the history of his association with the Emergers, but I have struggled with his association with the name.

    I believe Mark to be biblically sound in his faith and teaching. I consider him a brother, but his willingness to be considered “Emergent” has troubled me. But I just recalled a conversation where I was telling someone about culture jamming. I now suppose it might be a good thing for Mark to preach sound doctrine while retaining an Emergent label, as a way of subverting heresy.

    As you say, hate this if you must. 🙂

  5. poopemerges March 12, 2008 at 10:10 pm #

    Reb,

    in the “Confessions of a a Reformission Rev” book, Mark totally does denounce the moniker…and the people associated. He sometimes has used the term “Emerging” in the past but this is usually recognized as a separate term meaning a theologically sound church that is ministering to Pomos.

    By the way: I agree about the T. Jones book.

    D

  6. bluelikeelvis March 13, 2008 at 1:25 am #

    “Christ has no place” in the Jones book? Can that statement be supported? I would love to hear it.

Leave a Reply

