Boycott The Olympics in China!

24 Mar

Now I am not speaking here to athletes (though, I would be happy about that as well).  No my call here is to Christians and human rights activists in general.  To all who care about religious freedom.  I do not care in the least that our government has taken China off it’s list of top human rights offenders,  we all know that is crap.  We also all know that anyone trying to practice their faith freely in China is abused.  I want to call on Christian people especially, in support of our Chinese Christian Brothers in prison and still being persecuted, not to watch this sham.  If the Olympics are about good will and the human spirit then there is no way they should be taking place in a cruel communistic regime.  I will not watch this year.  I encourage you to do the same.

Also what are we to say of the government of our own country who ignores these abuses so that they can trade more freely?  Money it would seem trumps freedom.

5 Responses to “Boycott The Olympics in China!”

  1. beckystewart March 24, 2008 at 11:59 am #

    I’m not usually one to boycott, and I do love watching the Olympics. But, really, you do make a good point. I guess if I can boycott the NCAA football post-season in protest of the bowl series, I could boycott the Olympics in protest of persecution. Definitely something to think about…

  2. Seth McBee March 24, 2008 at 11:31 pm #

    Dave.

    I think you raise good points, but I must ask if you take this logic to other areas in your life? I am not trying to be a jerk here, but this becomes kind of hard. Do you boycott everything from China, or just the Olympics?

    Just wanted to see if you find a difference in this thought process. Sorry…just wanted to ask.

  3. poopemerges March 25, 2008 at 1:07 am #

    In as much as possible yes. I would prefer to use no Chinese products…(though this is hard)… I do see it as a somewhat different issue though, as this is a dress up event so to speak, where all the nations of the world are getting together and pretending everything is a-ok. I do not feel like hold an Olympics in China is appropriate. I also hate the fact that we have given them most favored nation status. If at all possible I want nothing produced by oppressed people in China. I think that there should be sanctions until China allows true religious freedom.

    The Persecuted church is one of my hot button issues…but i just feel like supporting this Olympics says to China, hey it’s o.k. that you torture Christians, that’s just your culture and who are we to judge…

    PS: It’s pretty impossible to be a jerk on this site…at least a bigger one than its proprietor :).

  4. Seth McBee March 25, 2008 at 12:12 pm #

    Interesting points…but I really love to watch fencing…now what?

  5. mikevandrie March 25, 2008 at 6:45 pm #

    It is no surprise that our government doesn’t do anything about what is happening in China. All they care about is money, they have for a long time and will continue to.

Leave a Reply

