Romans 4 and Crazy J-El’s Dog

26 Mar

So I will be the first to admit that I have not read John “J-El” Eldridge’s new book…but if it is as this reviewer says then I don’t think I will be running out to get it. Apparently J-El (still from the block) applies the promises of Romans 4 to his dying dog. Now usually I would have some pithy comment especially for the J-El lovers, who really are a sophisticated bunch of internet stalkers but frankly, if the man believes that:

Therefore, the promise comes by faith, so that it may be by grace and may be guaranteed to all Abraham’s offspring—not only to those who are of the law but also to those who have the faith of Abraham. He is the father of us all. Romans 4:16

applies to his dog then what in the world can I say, that junk is as funny as it gets.

(although only slightly less funny then when he is praying to the hawk…)

8 Responses to “Romans 4 and Crazy J-El’s Dog”

  1. aboulet March 26, 2008 at 5:01 pm #

    “And then I saw Scout, with the eyes of my heart, running with a whole pack of very happy dogs, near the feet of Jesus.” Meanwhile his son heard Jesus say, “He won’t give me the ball.” “To hear that from Jesus was more precious to us than I can say.”

    It could have been said after his first book, but it’s imperative and utterly important to say it now:

    John Eldridge has completely lost it.

  2. Seth McBee March 26, 2008 at 8:08 pm #

    David.

    I don’t if I should be laughing at this…it is so sad…

    By the way…

    Have you read “Why We’re Not Emergent: From Two Guys Who Should Be”?

    I have started to read it…it is pretty stinkin good.

  3. amybaker March 26, 2008 at 9:30 pm #

    that guy kills me! everytime I see that goofy “manly” man silouette (spelling?) jumping over a rock to save his wildness from being crushed I laugh. Now he’s applying Romans to his dog? I guess I don’t get it b/c I am a girl and not “wild at heart.” I read the review and it sounds like Max Lucado meets the mountain man.

  4. Meade March 26, 2008 at 9:35 pm #

    I’d like to talk about this post in a substantive way but I’ve got to go beat a drum and eat some raw meat while watching Braveheart.

  5. poopemerges March 26, 2008 at 11:56 pm #

    Seth: Just bought it on Amazon

    Amy and Meade: You guys think like I do. It is hard for me as an urban church loving Christian to get into a non-church loving horse back riding Christianity. I am also intrigued by how J-El always equates the most manly thing you can do with getting away from women…To paraphrase the office, on behalf of my wife: “that’s not what she said.”

    Art: I could not agree more. He has done gone coo-coo, but just wait…soon enough this post will be up on some J-El forum and they will flock over to tell me how evil I am…Random side note, a minute ago I though God was talking to me through our dog Lucy…turns out she was just snoring.

    D

  6. Joel Shaffer March 27, 2008 at 12:40 pm #

    Here’s a link to a funny parody that Lark News did indirectly poking fun at Eldridge and Wild at Heart.

    http://www.larknews.com/february_2005/secondary.php?page=3

    Looks like John E. gave them (or whoever) some more ammunition for parodies and laughter!!!

  7. poopemerges March 27, 2008 at 12:48 pm #

    “If effete Christian men want to go into the woods and re-connect with their remaining shreds of masculinity, what’s the harm?” “These are not criminals. If you need a book to tell you how to be a man, how dangerous can you be?”

    That is my favorite line from the above article in Lark…

  8. Pastor Kevin November 14, 2010 at 2:06 am #

    Dear Author,
    I don’t always agree with Elderidge, but I question how you can say something about a book if you haven’t read it. Do you understand the context in which Elderidge writes about his dog?
    BTW, if you are refering to the book I think you are (Walking With G0d) then you miss use the hawk story. Elderidge definitely is not praying to hawks. Hawks are his favorite bird. To him the hawk reminds him of God’s love for him.

Leave a Reply

