Let the Complaining Begin

2 Apr

I know many of you will be emotional about this…there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth…and no I have no idea who the people who made this are or if I agree with them or not (on other things)…but it is funny, so even though I am sure some of you will be hurt deep in your soul I am posting this anyway…because as I have said before this site is about one thing: Funny.

33 Responses to “Let the Complaining Begin”

  1. Ryan April 3, 2008 at 4:31 am #

    Honestly, this makes me really sad. Watching it, it felt like…hatred. It’s really disheartening to see people attacking someone who’s honestly seeking truth and demean him this way.

    Tell me: in what way does this video look like Jesus? Very, very disheartening.

  2. mikevandrie April 3, 2008 at 8:07 am #

    Ryan first this video is a spoof. They are going to over exaggerate things.

    Secondly why can Rob Bell from the pulpit attack and mock different pastors in his sermons?

  3. LayGuy April 3, 2008 at 10:49 am #

    That is too funny. Yet I can hear where Ryan is coming from.

  4. poopemerges April 3, 2008 at 11:31 am #

    Wow. Hatred? Really? I just see funny. I guess I am not very sensitive but let’s say that Mike up there produced this kind of video about me…I am pretty sure I would laugh. Or about Driscoll I know I would laugh…or Piper…I would laugh in fact I did when they did it to Piper here: http://youtube.com/watch?v=6-GxkAJ1OBU

    Also RE Bell and Truth: Bell may be seeking the Truth Ryan, but he is seeking it outside of 2000 years of historic Christianity and if he ever does find it we are all going to have to convert because what he is teaching is not the Christianity of the apostles.

    I am sorry you were disheartened. I am kind of disheartened that your sense of humor is broken.

  5. thatguyswife April 3, 2008 at 12:57 pm #

    Oh my word! That is soooo funny!

    I believe that if we laugh more, it will make the sadness (really sad) go away!!!!

  6. Brianmpei April 3, 2008 at 2:16 pm #

    The bit in the toilet stall was very funny. The dance was very funny and a little David Brent-ish. The rest was, not as funny. And why the accent at the beginning?

  7. poopemerges April 3, 2008 at 2:29 pm #

    I don’t get that accent either…in fact i said that to my wife…the bathroom part is may fave as well. For what it’s worth this steve and Kathy do not seem to be mean spirited as I watch their other videos…

  8. Don April 3, 2008 at 8:27 pm #

    Dude, i want to watch it, but im at work. Pishaw.

  9. Don April 4, 2008 at 10:21 am #

    Wait, was that reall bell? If not, i would say its a spot on representation.

  10. Ryan Imel April 4, 2008 at 4:04 pm #

    @mikevandrei: I get the exaggerations. They did a good job. Whether or not Bell has ever attacked others from the pulpit or not, I can’t attest to. I don’t attend every Sunday. Every time I see him speak, however, he seems to only attack the idea of rules without spirit, of law without justice, and so forth. He does attack ideas and ways of practice. But I’ve never seen him mock another the way this does.

    If Rob has done it, I don’t support that. But even if he did, that doesn’t mean another Christian should attack him back. Is this what we’re taught to do? Is this the best way to respond?

    @poopemerges: Actually I disagree with you. He isn’t seeking it outside of 2000 years of Christianity, at all. His is a unique strand of thought, sure, but not completely unique. More than anything he’s an outstanding speaker that can communicate truths of scripture to all kinds of people. In that regard, yes, he is peculiar in 2000 years of Christianity.

    I’m not ignorant of church history or of what the church has thought and done. The fact that we aren’t regurgitating what has already been thought does not mean that we are acting outside of what we are called to do. I see what Rob is doing as building on what has been done. We need new understandings. Of course, I also recognize (and I could be wrong) that what you and I think of heretics and the church’s treatment of those who disagree with “the official story” is probably different. I don’t like what the church has done to heretics or what they have done to spiritual thinking.

    And I have an excellent sense of humor. What I don’t laugh at, though, is someone being attacked on a level like this (mocking of him in the Matthew Nooma, for instance) when someone is honestly seeking the truth and sharing it, even to the point of sharing very personal and painful things, mockery of them is not something that followers of Jesus should encourage.

    Heck, we’re all on the same team. The rest of the world sees how we treat each other (like this video for example, or far worse examples that make this look like a compliment) and says “Look how the Christians treat each other. So loving. So Christ-like. Yeah, they really believe what they are selling.”

  11. Seth McBee April 4, 2008 at 5:17 pm #

    Ryan.
    There are so many things I want to say about your comments but I am afraid that it wouldn’t do much for the “conversation.”

    But, Jesus mocked those who were false prophets and heretics all the time…look at Matthew 23. Even calling them sons of the Devil in John 8:44.

    And Rob Bell is doing just what the gnostics did, questioning the historical documents so much that the gospel is lost. Rob Bell does something a lot more dangerous than mocking other preachers, HE MOCKS GOD!

    It also really irks me when people say, “we aren’t just regurgitating what has been passed down.” Maybe you should. Because it is a command by Paul to do so.

    You therefore, my son, be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus.The things which you have heard from me in the presence of many witnesses, entrust these to faithful men who will be able to teach others also.

    2 Timothy 2:1-2

    What if Luke were to do what Rob Bell is doing? He wouldn’t have ever come to any conclusion and never would have been able to write his gospel:


    Inasmuch as many have undertaken to compile an account of the things accomplished among us, just as they were handed down to us by those who from the beginning were eyewitnesses and servants of the word,it seemed fitting for me as well, having investigated everything carefully from the beginning, to write it out for you in consecutive order, most excellent Theophilus;

    Luke 1:1-3

  12. poopemerges April 4, 2008 at 5:43 pm #

    Ryan: Thank you for a thoughtful response. I disagree with a bunch of it, but I appreciate what you have to say. I will admit that I have only seen one Nooma (I jsut think they are shallow..but that’s me) so I am not sure what the “Matthew Nooma” is.

    But here is the point, i am called to love people i am in fellowship with, but you know what else the Bible says? It says when someone is teaching a false doctrine that I should show no hospitality to them and not even let them in the house.(2 John 9-10) So I think it is a bit simplistic to worry about offending non-believers.

    But if we are going to worry about non-believers (and we must!) then I would think what would be even more dangerous than disagreement amongst us is the lack of preaching the good news of Jesus Christ who rescued us from our sins and death by his atoning work at the cross, that is the Gospel, men need to hear.

    You are right when you say he is an excellent speaker! Unfortunately you are wrong when you say he communicates truth, especially if you believe that historic orthodox Christianity is truth.

  13. poopemerges April 4, 2008 at 5:44 pm #

    Woot, Woot Seth.

    D

  14. Steve April 5, 2008 at 5:19 pm #

    Ryan,
    If your not seeking the truth OF scripture then you are not seeking truth at all. What’s really sad is that you and so many others are duped into thinking that Rob and Kent Dobson are actually seeking truth…ridiculous..
    Bartfargo8

  15. Steve April 5, 2008 at 5:30 pm #

    and one more thing that’s on my mind about this subject of truth.. If Rob doesn’t fit the Biblical description of those who “introduce destructive heresies” than no one does..
    It is certainly a time for those who count themselves “in Christ” to pray strongly for discernment, lest you be swept away by every wind of doctrine that blows around, just as the early Christian leaders rightly did by rejecting the gospel of Thomas..

  16. mikevandrie April 7, 2008 at 7:49 am #

    Well, poop I am going to make a spoof video of you and we will see if you like it. 🙂 It will be pure hatred of you.

  17. Don April 7, 2008 at 10:37 am #

    I’m in mike. You’ll have to shave your head tho.

  18. poopemerges April 7, 2008 at 11:36 am #

    well as long as it’s pure 🙂

  19. Natalie April 7, 2008 at 6:33 pm #

    I’m not all for Mike shaving his head…why not just use Kyle? He comes pre-bald!!

  20. poopemerges April 7, 2008 at 6:43 pm #

    I agree. No one should have to go through the hell that is baldness before it’s time.

  21. mikevandrie April 7, 2008 at 7:42 pm #

    No way am I shaving it completely bald. My hair is starting to recede and there is no way that I am going to tempt fate anymore than what I have to.

  22. poopemerges April 7, 2008 at 7:56 pm #

    That is how it starts. Mine was receding so bad I had to go with the bald look…I miss hair!

  23. mhogue April 18, 2008 at 4:14 pm #

    I think my husband will be bald one day. But I think he will like it. I’m going to try and convince him never to shave his head. Wish me luck?

  24. Blogger X May 16, 2008 at 7:03 pm #

    This is pretty funny, thanks!

  25. ruoydiputs June 17, 2008 at 2:40 pm #

    this is NOT remotely close to funny. Do me a favor, would you please? Exactly what is so funny about it? I can honestly say I didn’t as much as smirk let alone laugh about this. I just can’t believe the lack of dignity and character it takes to post such a thing.

  26. ruoydiputs June 17, 2008 at 2:45 pm #

    Im pissed about this. Its not just a mockery of Rob Bell and his ministry but a complete mockery of Jesus Christ and Christianity. I’m sickened by it, but I guess you cant expect non-christians to act in a Christian way, but only hope they’ll see the truth and change. Thats what I hope for you and the person who made this and all the people who think its funny.

  27. poopemerges June 17, 2008 at 2:46 pm #

    I am not responsible for your lack of a sense of humor…I can’t believe that someone as dour as as you takes time to post on the internet.. But since I am so nice here is a link for you: click

  28. poopemerges June 17, 2008 at 2:57 pm #

    number 1: I did not make the video

    number 2: Rob Bell does not have a ministry…he has a show..and that show is not about Jesus. He is a metro-superstar to be sure and I am sorry that I offended you by posting a video about your crush…but get over it.

    number 3: As you can see from the above, even if I liked Bell this would be funny

    number 4: It is ironic that a Bell fan would talk about others being non-Christian…Last I checked Rob-o was moving toward universalism…and we are all forgiven anyway.

    Number 5: Good I am glad you are mad. I am mad that people do not acknowledge that the teaching at Mars Hill “Bible” Church is heretical, unbiblical, dangerous and completely devoid of the gospel.

    Number 6: If you are going to be a true Mars Hill-ite do not use the Terms “bible”, “Christian” or “truth: you do not believe in any of the above…please just say “our warped view of Torah says…” and then spout your Jesus-free, salvation-sanitized social gospel crap.

  29. Laz July 10, 2008 at 12:36 am #

    brutal…

  30. Seth McBee July 10, 2008 at 2:02 am #

    I love when people put a man (Rob “the heretic” Bell) on the same plane as Jesus Christ. By you just saying that this, speaking to ruoydiputs, is a mockery of Christ shows your understanding of taking the Lord’s name in vain…

    you have just broken the third commandment…go ahead…look it up so you know which one I am speaking of…

    I am sure the old testament doesn’t come up much in the “conversation”

  31. Laz July 10, 2008 at 10:46 am #

    Ruoy, your response is not surprising in the least bit.

    The devotees of Bell seem to have little trouble when he critiques others (see “Bullhorn Guy” or Bell’s interview with Relevant Mag), and in fact might even get a chuckle out of it. Then there is the fawning admiration for his razor-sharp wit as he slices and dices modern-day pharisees (those deemed to be so by him at least). The profligate use of the word “toxic” is always a hit.

    I’m not sure how apropos the following words from Ravi Zacharias are in regards to Mr. Bell (Ravi was referring to the so-called Emergent Church):

    And it makes me wonder. There is seriously… with these men and women who are the progenitors of it, were they bored with God? What brought this about? You know, what brought this methodology into a theology? When you write a book like “The Secret Message of Jesus”? [by Brian McLaren] What?!?! 2,000 years have gone by now suddenly he’s found the secret to it, we didn’t know it?

    This is so bizarre, but you know the problem is that we got non-critical people listening to this stuff and they absorb it.

    Non-critical people. In my experience this is how Mr. Bell’s fiercest defenders come across as.

    Case in point is a dear close friend of mine who is a big Bell fan (he doesn’t see eye-to-eye with Bell on everything but he admires the guy as much as the next devotee) and after reading a post in which I merely compared Bell’s take and John MacArthur’s take on environmentalism, my friend was none too happy.

    His response was an emotional one, which you have to make sure yours isn’t (at least primarily) because it tends to cloud reason, not to mention (drumroll please) discernment.

    I will grant Bell that he recommends we wrestle with Velvet Elvis, though his response to the follow-through of his recommendation is a bit puzzling.

  32. poopemerges July 10, 2008 at 11:25 am #

    Laz,

    Well said!

  33. Ray July 10, 2008 at 5:08 pm #

    To quote Doug Wilson in addressing variant (read heretical) doctrines: “Don’t wrestle with them. Beat them up!”

Leave a Reply

