Matt Chandler Quote…”

9 Jul

“God can save from both witchcraft and the Baptists”

 

It made me smile…

9 Responses to “Matt Chandler Quote…””

  1. Seth McBee July 9, 2008 at 6:22 pm #

    Hey…wait a minute…I am a baptist…

    Wait…what? I gotta go…someone is raising their hands in church again.

  2. poopemerges July 9, 2008 at 6:35 pm #

    So am I and so is he… That is why it’s funny… You know like how only white guys can all other white guys “Cracker”…

  3. Seth McBee July 9, 2008 at 11:45 pm #

    Yeah…I know…I love making fun of “the good ole boys” of the baptist faith…they have done some good in my life, but looking back…they actually did more bad than good…they made me love moralism instead of love the cross…

  4. poopemerges July 10, 2008 at 1:06 am #

    Dude…amen to that…how deeply did the ingrain moralism and try harder theology into us? What a crock! What idolatry! My greatest joy in life is that I have learned that it’s the Cross…it’s Jesus and it is Grace. Grace won!

  5. Dan July 10, 2008 at 9:10 am #

    That is funny.

  6. amybaker July 10, 2008 at 11:46 am #

    Hilarious! I actually finished listening to that sermon about an hour before looking at your blog. As a “recovering” Baptist, there is always some twisted deep satisfaction in hearing Chandler mock them.

  7. kaymarie122 July 10, 2008 at 11:19 pm #

    One of the funniest things I heard while in seminary was one student ask his friend what demonination he was and his response was “I’m a recovering baptist”

  8. divinescribble July 19, 2008 at 4:53 pm #

    Dude, I have now added you to my blogroll. This is one of the most honest and refreshin blogs I’ve read in a long time.

    The sovreignty of God and the reality of life are such serious things and I love how you make it real.

    The name of the blog doesn’t hurt either.

    Oh…I’m married to a recovering Baptist who’s trying to navigate my Mennonite world! Figure that one out 🙂

  9. PS August 15, 2008 at 4:26 pm #

    I love to tell people I’m not THAT kind of Baptist. I love my Baptist heritage but I hate the reality of modern Baptist life.

Leave a Reply

