Cities of God

11 Aug

I am reading “Cities of God” by Rodney Stark…I just started but I love this quote:

“All ambitions missionary movements are, or soon become Urban”

It has been this way since Paul,  and if you doubt it go look up the genesis of the word “Pagan.”  It is a sad fact of American and Urban history that early 20th Century evangelist like Moody decided to abandon the city…Think that had any effect?
Discuss.

5 Responses to “Cities of God”

  1. Seth McBee August 12, 2008 at 4:26 pm #

    I agree with that comment in the book, I also see the great need of the churches returning to the city…

    Here is my question…

    Do I, as a suburban white boy preacher, leave it up to the great churches in my city to be that part of the body of Christ, or I am supposed to do something about it?

    Because there is need of suburban ministry as well…

    So, is the calling for simply the return of the universal church or in part of every church individually?

  2. Seth McBee August 12, 2008 at 4:28 pm #

    Let me clear this…sorry…when I say:

    Do I, as a suburban white boy preacher, leave it up to the great churches in my city to be that part of the body of Christ, or I am supposed to do something about it?

    I mean, do I leave it up to the churches inside the urban city of Seattle to take care of this or am I (where I live and serve 20 miles outside of Seattle) am supposed to do something about it?

  3. poopemerges August 12, 2008 at 8:37 pm #

    Seth, I would differentiate between movement energy and individual energy…You should bloom where you are planted…we need Churches and missionaries everywhere. That being said if we want a world changing movement as agencies and missions strategist we should concentrate in cities.

    D

  4. PS August 15, 2008 at 4:11 pm #

    Cities are the centers of influence. They act as the hub of a much larger wheel. An ambitious missionary movement starts with the city but it does not neglect the suburbs or the rural comminities.

  5. poopemerges August 18, 2008 at 12:22 pm #

    I agree…but for much of the last century the inverse has been true and the city has been neglected. And when cities are reached the logic of networks suggest the villages will as well.

Leave a Reply

