Who Driscoll Listens To

27 Sep

There is a short list of people that I will listen to: the elders, my wife, John Piper, C.J Mahaney, Gary Breshears. I’ll listen to them because they have love and hope for me. They will criticize me, but it’s so that I can be more like Jesus, and not so that they can glory in their victory.

Notice that a certain arrogant, spiritually immature, malcontent, contentious brother is absent from the list.   For this I am glad,  we all need true men of God to speak into our lives and help us become more like Jesus.  We also need to be able to ignore those who sneak in like wolves among the sheep.  This is a very important skill lest the Gospel be neutered by people who love themselves and  sound of their own critique more than they love the King.  I hope for myself men of God who will tell me the truth and the skills to ignore those who would put their preferences and glory before the Cross.

D

5 Responses to “Who Driscoll Listens To”

  1. LayGuy September 28, 2008 at 7:34 am #

    Would love to know who this arrogant, spiritually immature, malcontent, contentious brother” is poop!

  2. poopemerges September 28, 2008 at 1:18 pm #

    Lay: Check the category 🙂

  3. Meade September 28, 2008 at 5:21 pm #

    After spending a half hour checking out SC I now get the post from a while ago about his latest project. I have no use for polemic blogs unless they’re really funny. His is REALLY polemic and not funny at all. In fact he thinks funny is dishonoring to God. Oh well.

  4. poopemerges September 28, 2008 at 5:26 pm #

    🙂 Thanks Meade…I will try and stay funny so you don’t have stop reading!

    You are right though his blog is painful!!!!

  5. Joel September 29, 2008 at 3:02 pm #

    i know steve camp from one song he did and from a delightfully refreshing and uplifting blog called “a slice of laodicea” to which he contributes or did (haven’t been in a while).

    it’s not just funny things they don’t like there, it’s everything.

Leave a Reply

