I am Concerned…

10 Oct

I don’t know who these people are..so I will not vouch for them,  but I will vouch for the fact that they are right about the placement of Abortion Clinics and for the fact that abortion seems to be an intentional war against black and Latino populations in our cities.  I would also agree that this is genocide.  Abortion is a justice issue.  Plain and simple.  People can make it what ever else they like,  but the fact is a woman who has an abortion is making a decision to be an oppressor.  You can not claim to love justice and support abortion in general and abortive genocide against whole races in particular.  

The wild irony I am seeing among younger evangelicals is an abandonment of this issue to become “green”…  How sad.  I support stewardship of the earth, but why the abandonment of one of the few social issues where we evangelicals actually held the social, moral and spiritual high ground.  The earth is important.  We should protect it.  But humans alone are special among God’s creation.  If you doubt this consider: There is no redemption plan for trees.  Trees do not bare the image of God,  unborn children do.  Unborn children of every color.  Shame on us young evangelicals.  May we regain our love of Justice.

12 Responses to “I am Concerned…”

  1. Seth McBee October 13, 2008 at 1:13 pm #

    What up D.

    Your post is definitely a good one…like usual, I wish you would expand your thoughts on this, because you bring up good pionts.

    I am definitely not as “green” as I should be, and we should fight vigorously for both. Of course souls are more important than wood and leaves, but we should be better stewards of our planet as well.

  2. poopemerges October 13, 2008 at 1:25 pm #

    Seth, I agree. We all need to be better stewards…and I am not at all lamenting the focus of younger evangelicals on eco-stewardship. My chief point is that we as evangelicals tend to be fad driven, but this is wrong, and we can not move from one right thing to the next right thing but rather as Christ followers we need to be rightly concerned about all things that Jesus is concerned about.

    Beyond that Humans as image bearers of God and the only creation (including angels) for which there is a plan of redemption must take preeminence when it comes to issues of justice. Because in this case it is not just creation which we protect but God’s own image.

    D

  3. Seth McBee October 13, 2008 at 2:02 pm #

    Very much agreed.

  4. mikevandrie October 13, 2008 at 9:06 pm #

    Dave it is sad that Christians my age have abandoned the abortion issue. The reason like with most things in Christianity these days is that it is mostly reactionary. For so long all we heard was about how bad abortion was, however no one ever talked about the other social justice issues, even other ones that dealt with human life. I hope that we can reclaim and claim all of the social issues that Jesus would have cared about.

  5. Ray October 13, 2008 at 9:28 pm #

    Dave I couldn’t agree more. Did you see my article in Saturday’s (10/11) G.R. Press Religious section? Back page (Rob Bell got the front section). Today’s young evangelicals have abandoned true justice issues for the convenient, less messy and less sacred, ones for political expediency.

  6. amybaker October 14, 2008 at 10:59 pm #

    Ray, that’s a pretty sweeping statement to make. Which issues, exactly, are you labeling as “less messy and less sacred, ones for political expediency?”

  7. amybaker October 14, 2008 at 10:59 pm #

    you may be referencing your article, which I did not see, so my question may be more of a lack of information. So I will see if I can find it online.

  8. Ray October 15, 2008 at 4:21 pm #

    amybaker,

    Sometimes it’s more effective painting with a broad stroke, just to be certain everyone gets paint on them. I was agreeing primarily with Dave’s concerns regarding abortion. There’s a lack of conscious among many believers, especially in the protection of the unborn as a justice issue. The sanctity of life is a foundational biblical issue.

  9. Meade October 22, 2008 at 11:22 pm #

    The trouble with our whole political arrangement right now is that like you said, in order to go green you have to abandon the abortion issue.

    Biblical values are spread between the two parties yet Christians are concentrated in one party. This is a horrible arrangement in which you have to pick whether you want to oppose abortion or support social justice.

    If christians were not in the pocket of the republican party I think we’d see candidates emerge that didn’t just support the biblical values conservatism tends to emphasize or that liberalism tends to emphasize.

    C.S. Lewis said the devil always sends errors to us in pairs, pairs of opposites. His hope is that our hatred of the one will back us into the other. If that’s not a description of our political landscape…

    None the less our current situation forces us to compromise in one way or another.

  10. Joel Shaffer October 23, 2008 at 10:30 am #

    Meade,

    You say, “This is a horrible arrangement in which you have to pick whether you want to oppose abortion or support social justice.”

    I think it is quite the misnomer that the democrats support social justice. I believe that their intentions are good for helping the poor, but their policies have actually contributed to accelerating poverty. After living and ministering in the ‘hood for almost 20 years, I have come to conclude that the welfare state actually oppresses the poor, rather than helping it which is why I am not enthused about Obama.

    On the other hand, because of the corrupt nature that we humans possess, I am not entirely opposed to government intervention, as long it is creating boundaries and opportunities rather than controlling institutions.

    For you viewing pleasure, here is a youtube video that addresses why good intentions for helping the poor, whether by an individual or the government, are not nearly enough.

  11. Seth McBee October 23, 2008 at 1:30 pm #

    Joel.
    Great video, thanks for the link.

    Can I ask you something?

    I live and minister in a suburban city…what do you feel is the best way for me to serve the city of Seattle? Serve the poor there? Should I monetarily support those who try and make an impact in the city? This is something that I think about all the time and struggle with.

    We used to go down and simply feed the poor on the weekends, but we got shut down by the city of Seattle.

    Any thoughts in general?

  12. Joel Shaffer October 23, 2008 at 4:20 pm #

    Of course urban ministries always need financial resources, but even more than that, I would looke to volunteer on a regular basis at the place that you are giving your money to. I know with our ministry, we are always looking for people that can share their gifts and talents with our ministry. For example, one of our volunteer staff just hooked up a banker with one of our young adult students who really needed mentoring in his finances as part of his discipleship….There has to be some urban ministries in Seattle that are doing similar type of things.

    Another question I would ask is, are the poor being pushed out to the suburbs like yours because of gentrification? Look for apartment complexes where there is cheap housing and you will most likely find single parent families that are one paycheck away from being homeless.

    Out here in the Midwest, businesses and schools are open to faith-based organizations building relationships and developing programs that help the poor in their schools or in their housing complexes, and etc….I don’t know how open the Northwest is to things like that….

    The problem about me giving advise about Seattle is that I don’t really know the city’s culture except from what I hear from people like Mark Driscoll. For me, I need to walk to streets to really understand the city’s dna.

Leave a Reply

