Smoking Cigars to the Glory of Christ…

16 Oct

This is from Jared.  You can read the whole thing here: Click.  I enjoy for some reason stories of Baptist par excellence Spurgeon and his stogies.  

In 1874, Christian World Magazine reported a curious exchange between itinerant preaches Dwight Pentecost and Charles Spurgeon taking place upon a joint appearance at a worship service. Pentecost included in his sermon an impassioned tale of heeding God’s call to give up smoking, as it impeded his piety. Many saw this testimony as a passive aggressive dig at Spurgeon, himself a well-known cigar smoker.

When Spurgeon took to the pulpit, this is what he said:

Well, dear friends, you know that some men can do to the glory of God what to other men would be sin. And notwithstanding what brother Pentecost has said, I intend to smoke a good cigar to the glory of God before I go to bed to-night. If anybody can show me in the Bible the command, “Thou shalt not smoke,” I am ready to keep it; but I haven’t found it yet. I find ten commandments, and it’s as much as I can do to keep them; and I’ve no desire to make them into eleven or twelve.

The fact is, I have been speaking to you about real sins, not about listening to mere quibbles and scruples. At the same time, I know that what a man believes to be sin becomes a sin to him, and he must give it up. “Whatsoever is not of faith is sin” [Rom. 14:23], and that is the real point of what my brother Pentecost has been saying.
Why, a man may think it a sin to have his boots blacked. Well, then, let him give it up, and have them whitewashed. I wish to say that I’m not ashamed of anything whatever that I do, and I don’t feel that smoking makes me ashamed, and therefore I mean to smoke to the glory of God.

10 Responses to “Smoking Cigars to the Glory of Christ…”

  1. Seth McBee October 16, 2008 at 6:12 pm #

    Yeah…money….

    Did you know that the IFB tries to tell a tale that Spurgeon gave up smoking after he saw a sign in a cigar shop window that said, “Smoke the cigar that Spurgeon smokes”

    It is totally made up, but they love Spurgeon and think smoking is a sin, so they had to make up a story to try and show that Spurgeon gave up smoking.

    Crazy.

  2. poopemerges October 16, 2008 at 8:25 pm #

    You gotta love a group where smoking is a sin but lying isn’t :). Is there anything really fun I can do as a IFB? Can I steal? Maybe kill someone..cause if so I will totally convert…who needs cigars when you can eliminate your enemies?

  3. Natalie October 16, 2008 at 8:52 pm #

    Eliminating enemies doesn’t have cancerous results…unless you do it wrong.

  4. poopemerges October 16, 2008 at 9:29 pm #

    Did you say that with Judgmental eyes Natalie? 🙂

  5. Natalie October 16, 2008 at 9:39 pm #

    I don’t say anything with judgmental eyes – that’s your job! I did say that with the mental image of 5 or so men with mouth/throat/lung cancer though…one in particular that will get punched in the cancer.

  6. poopemerges October 16, 2008 at 10:15 pm #

    Whatever….If anything kills most of us it will be a cheeseburger.

    D

  7. ddonnie October 17, 2008 at 12:47 am #

    Word to that D

  8. Natalie October 17, 2008 at 10:08 am #

    Whatever – like I said last night: It won’t be a cheeseburger, it will be pizza from (and I say this slightly grosses out) “the Uch”.

  9. poopemerges October 17, 2008 at 10:14 am #

    Really it will probably be a tired, pizza induced car wreak on the way home…but we will not be killed, we will be saved by the protective layer of “blubber” we obtained at the “Yooch” (this is the preferred spelling)

  10. DUKE October 18, 2008 at 8:09 pm #

    This is why Spurgeon is truly one of the greatest, doesn’t care about others opinions.

Leave a Reply

