I Think Twitter May Be Killing My Desire to Blog…

3 Dec

Plus I am not really inspired.  I may soon blog on Tony Jones and the Homosexuality issue…But that is dangerous cause you know he is out there googling his name and itching to come over and fight… The problem is that he has switched all the rules of what it means to argue any issue from a Christian perspective. You can’t talk about orthodoxy, because he does not believe in it… He will come over and give us wise sounding arguments (ironically using words,  which as we know have no concrete meaning so what even is the point?)…He will win the argument based upon the fact that we are no longer allowed to operate from the stand point of 2000 years of Christian history, or from common understanding of language, or from shared tradition.  Essentially he will win the game by changing the rules mid game (even my kids know that is cheating).  But if someone bigger than Tony were making the rules by which we must now converse,  then I suggest that even someone like me who is admittedly not as bright as Tony,  might be able to make an argument for love, compassion and gentleness and at the same time believe that active participation in the Homosexual activity is sin… And that people who un-repententantly participate in sexual sin be it gay or straight…Should be confronted not ordained.

D

7 Responses to “I Think Twitter May Be Killing My Desire to Blog…”

  1. a December 3, 2008 at 9:54 pm #

    I had similar thoughts after listening to doug pagitt on the neue ministry podcast this week. I am no rocket scientist, but I can hold my own, and he was talking in circles and making little to no sense. It’s as though the name of he and tony jones’ game is to put as many words between the period of their last sentence, and the question asked.

  2. plong42 December 4, 2008 at 8:52 am #

    Twitter kills my will to live. I am actually surprised I did not read about this little gem first on your blog.

    http://aboulet.com/2008/12/02/mark-driscoll-and-humpfest/

  3. poopemerges December 4, 2008 at 10:44 am #

    I let Art get that one 🙂 Crazy huh? I can not even imagine! If you have not heard him talk about it, the whole message from DG is worth it.

  4. Meade December 4, 2008 at 11:38 am #

    That’s exactly it. Since starting to use Twitter I’ve lost my inspiration. I need something to get angry about. (semi-holy anger of course) Maybe I’ll head over to the pyromaniacs or Triablog (sp) and gather some material.

  5. daryl underwood December 5, 2008 at 3:39 am #

    Not to worry…I doubt you are on Tony’s radar

  6. poopemerges December 5, 2008 at 8:52 am #

    Daryl: Hows God doing is he grown up yet? Get over anymore of his past foolishness 🙂 Actually….check the comments elsewhere on the site. You will find that both Tony and Doug…

  7. ddonnie December 6, 2008 at 1:52 pm #

    Haha d, if only they would leave the blogs alone rather than spending all day googling their own names. Shoot, the second post on my blog was about a certain president of a certain youth ministry company, and he found it right away.

Leave a Reply

