Say What you Will about Ed Young…But this is True

6 Jan

I especially like the part about being called to the elite.  (Though I wonder about the demographic of Fellowship)

7 Responses to “Say What you Will about Ed Young…But this is True”

  1. StainFreeMedia January 6, 2009 at 6:34 pm #

    FYI: Fellowship Church, Ed Young, Jr., Pastor has five (5) locations. Grapevine, Dallas, Plano, Ft. Worth TX and one in Miami FL. And here’s an Ed Young, Jr./Joel Osteen video attached for your dancing and dining pleasure:

  2. poopemerges January 6, 2009 at 6:40 pm #

    I am aware of where he is…but don’t know what the demo. is in those churches. But given the fact that the church advertised to those flying over with advertising on top of their building I think the thing about elites is a little ironic.

    I saw that video a while ago. Disturbing :)…(I mean even more disturbing than Olsteen usually is)

  3. StainFreeMedia January 6, 2009 at 11:18 pm #

    Yep, I live in Houston and have first hand knowledge of the damage Joel Osteen is doing with his pseudo-church. You see the people going in the front door but DON’T see the people going out the back door and never coming back or going to any other church, for that matter.

  4. Cara January 15, 2009 at 1:10 pm #

    I lived in Dallas for 3 years, and while I never visited Fellowship, I have friends who have, and our good friends (who was a pastor at our church) used to be on staff at the Grapevine (original) location.
    The reason people I know left that church is because they didn’t feel they fit in there…I’ve heard it called the “plastic surgery” church, and I’ve heard people say they felt ugly walking thru the doors…so that answers some questions about their demographic.
    Where they are located in Texas are in primarily high-end suburban areas, so that too may help your demographic question.

  5. Jeff January 16, 2009 at 11:22 pm #

    I agree that he has a pretty good point. I think that he fails to discuss that there are sometimes legit reasons to lead, namely corrupt leadership. However, church splits rarely end well. I hate to use the tired argument that everybody did something wrong, but that does seem to bear itself out time after time.

  6. Jason_73 January 17, 2009 at 7:57 pm #

    The weird thing here is that he’s talking about how these “pirates” took sometimes 20 years to work their betrayal…

    If anyone is a part of a church for 20 years, I’m sure there is a bit more to it than some elaborate scheme to steal members and start a new church.

  7. poopemerges January 18, 2009 at 1:18 am #

    Nice 🙂 and true.

    D

Leave a Reply

