The End of an Era…I Think

19 Feb

So sometime in 06 I started this blog to deal with bad teaching and poke a little fun at some really crappy stuff going on here in Grand Rapids MI.  And while I have done that and had fun,  I think the idea has run it’s course.  I am just not sure I want to be known as the guy who will cross every line anymore.  I still stand by everything I have written in essense I just don’t have the energy anymore.  One day I am going to die and I don’t want “He Really Burned Ingrid” on my grave stone.  So I am leaving the insult game,  maybe for something a little more grown up. 🙂

I will still try and be funny cause that is just me…I am goofy and occasionally edgy,  but as much as James Dobson irriates me he is not what I am passionate about.  I am passionate about Jesus,  and at times this blog has obscured that.  Even worse this blog has been a bit of a source of pride for me (what a load that is…only one as depraved as I could take pride in this).  So today I say good by to the angry blogging game,  and strike out in pursuit of something better.  

I still plan to blog,  but hopefully in a more edifying way,  I will still deal with theology but the days of the quick turn of phrase at someones elses expense seem tired to me.  I am moving on.  

So if you want to stop by in the future hopefully what you will see is my true passion and how it illuminates my little passions,  this means I want the blog to be about Jesus and all the things he makes me care about…Like Justice, and Mission and Church planting and urban ministry.  I want to be known for Jesus and that is all.  I have been convicted by the words of Scott Thomas of Acts 29 who said it like this “I am bored with it all and my neighbor needs Jesus…”  My neighbor was abandoned by her husband who will not pay child support,  is raising three kids alone and they just repoed her car,  I don’t think she gives a flip right now how funny I am…

4 Responses to “The End of an Era…I Think”

  1. mikevandrie February 19, 2009 at 9:18 am #

    ” My neighbor was abandoned by her husband who will not pay child support, is raising three kids alone and they just repoed her car, I don’t think she gives a flip right now how funny I am…”

    That is a great line that puts things in such great perspective.

  2. Gerald Malloy February 19, 2009 at 11:36 am #

    Can’t wait to see what’s next!

  3. M February 19, 2009 at 11:07 pm #

    I’ll be sad to see you go. I get the dilemma though.

  4. daryl underwood February 25, 2009 at 1:35 am #

    This is a good thing. May people see Jesus through your efforts. Take care.

Leave a Reply

