I love the Gospel!

31 Mar

I also love Mark Driscoll…and I grew up on Steve Camp’s music.  It was always strange to me that these two brothers could not get along because when it comes down to it they have similar prophetic gifts.  I know I have teased about Steve before on this blog,  but truthfully,  his lyrics were brilliant and biting in the best sense of the word.  I have a bunch of his songs from ITunes and would ironically listen as I would post about him,  or get angry reading his blog.  At any rate he has a beautiful post that is very kind to Mark and shows the power of the Gospel,  you can find it here. It is a must read.

This exemplifies what Mark often says, and Steve I believe is trying to live:   It is all about Jesus, its always about Jesus, its only about Jesus.

3 Responses to “I love the Gospel!”

  1. Boaly April 2, 2009 at 4:02 am #

    It’s such an impressive move by Steve, one that is a great example to us all.

  2. JO April 8, 2009 at 4:41 pm #

    D (i think that’s what people call you in real life),

    i’m trying to start a simple connection ministry in my suburb church with the homeless of Indianapolis. some folks in the church have outreach experience with homeless, but most have virtually never rubbed shoulders with homelessness. the ministry is simple – a bag with some food, water, and a note, and loving people who share Jesus. while no services will be able to be offered by the church, we will direct people (if they are able and willing) toward the established services available.

    what advice would you recommend a WASP suburb church to do to prep for this ministry? can you think of any simple, practical, passionate books that might be a great supplement to a ministry like this? something by perkins or sherman or others?

    thanks a lot

  3. poopemerges April 9, 2009 at 12:22 pm #

    Jo: I emailed you. Did you get it?

    D

Leave a Reply

