I remember when Steve Camp used to Be Convicting…

28 Nov

And Now for my most Hypocritical Post Ever:

So there is an old school Musician named Steve Camp,  who used to make great music that totally convicted me to my core…(Hell is Burning while the Church Sleeps)..It was amazing stuff I grew up listening to it and it was profitable in my walk with Jesus.  Now-a-days,  I don’t see much int he way of music.  He has instead become an angry blogger (kinda like me only he is not funny).  He claims to be a defender of the Gospel (and he means that in the way we reformed types do).  But instead of really defending the gospel he spends most of his time defending or attacking various methodology that one has to do hermenutical gymnastics to make sense of and the when you do what you discover is an angry little man,  with an ax to grind,  who consistently picks the wrong stone.  And then you are left with the impression that this man  does disservice to the very Gospel he claims to be protecting,  by stretching the text to suite his opinions and elevating his opinion to the level of sacred canon.  It just makes me sad because I do feel like the gospel needs defenders,  especially with orthodox faith so under attack, but i don’t feel like he is defending the Gospel so much as sniping it’s carriers…

Oh Well Hell is Burning while the Church Blogs….

I guess in the sense I am convicted.

4 Responses to “I remember when Steve Camp used to Be Convicting…”

  1. LayGuy November 30, 2007 at 10:05 am #

    Yeah I came across this also. Are we talking about the same Steve Camp – aka cool muso?

  2. poopemerges November 30, 2007 at 10:40 am #

    yep…

  3. Heather Fischer December 1, 2007 at 11:29 am #

    Yeah, many are apologists for old school American Christian culture and society rather than the faith. ie. don’t drink a beer in a pub- that’s a popular one.

  4. Seth McBee March 19, 2008 at 12:29 pm #

    uhhh…yeah…homeboy has lost it…I wonder when he will start picketing outside churches while playing guitar? It’s coming…

Leave a comment